OACTE Board of Trustees April 3, 2007

Bonnie Beach, Ohio Dominican; Marlene Deringer, Otterbein; Janet Devine, Walsh; Dottie Erb, Marietta; Marti Gaustad, Bowling Green; Phil Ginnetti, Youngstown; Donna Hanby, Wright State; Martha Hendricks, Wilmington; Jeff Hutton, Xavier; Ginny Keil, Toledo; Kaye Martin, Ohio; Frank Pettigrew, Ashland; Dianne Runnestrand, Ursuline; Herb Steffy, Heidelberg; Bob Thomas, Conference Coordinator; Debbie Weber, Shawnee State; Jaci Wilbanks, Akron.

Minutes

Martha Hendricks submitted the minutes from the October 25, 2006 meeting. Herb Steffy made a motion to accept the minutes. Donna Hanby seconded the motion. The minutes were accepted.

Treasurer's Report

Herb Steffy presented the treasurer's report. The balance on hand as of April 5, 2007 us \$1121.57. Five institutions have not paid their annual dues. Martha Hendricks made a motion to accept the treasurer's report. Jaci Wilbanks seconded the motion. The treasurer's report was accepted. Herb suggested that at the next meeting the organization should reconsider the dues structure, especially with the plans for the organization to become more active.

Meeting Business

As president, Bonnie Beach has been reading the OACTE regulations. (The regulations should not be confused with the Articles of Incorporation, which were written when the organization was officially incorporated in 1990 and are still in their original, typewritten form.) The regulations were last revised in September, 2002. Bonnie noted (and Herb was duly thanked for) the regulation allowing Board of Trustee members to vote by e-mail.

Discussion about the wording and consequent interpretation of the status of the President, the President Elect, Treasurer, and Secretary ensued. Members decided to accept Dianne Runnestrand's interpretation (for which she presented much evidence): the President, President Elect, Treasurer and Secretary would become Trustees by virtue of their offices. However holding these offices did not preclude them from being elected to a Class of Trustees in any given year.

Bonnie suggested that OACTE give awards at the Autumn banquet, both as a way of forging an identity and as a way of increasing attendance at the dinner. Martha Hendricks suggested that the award be given for scholarship that had an impact on teacher education in Ohio (particularly since much of the scholarship related to accreditation was not always recognized). Frank Pettigrew stated that the research and scholarship field was not always level and that some people had more access to resources to support scholarship than others. Dottie Erb suggested that an award for service to the teacher education organizations would be appropriate, service which is vital, but not

always acknowledged as such. Marti Gaustad suggested seed money for research. Bob Thomas suggested getting a sponsor if we wanted to attach money to the award. A subcommittee agreed to draft a proposal for the Trustees by June 1: Martha Hendricks, chair, Frank Pettigrew, Dianne Runnestrand, Phil Ginnetti.

Nominations

The Trustees constitute the nominating committee. The treasurer and secretary serve for two years. Herb Steffy was nominated as treasurer and Martha Hendricks was nominated as secretary (although neither was nominated as a trustee in the class of 2010). Trustees are elected at every spring meeting and serve for three years. Trustees nominated the following people (subject to acceptance) for the Class of 2010: Cheryl Irish, Cedarville; Linda Billman, Ashland; Dottie Erb, Marietta and Kaye Martin, Ohio; Ginny Kiel, Toledo; and Becky Pissanos, Bowling Green. OACTE needs a President Elect from a public, although this person only will serve a total of five years and only one year as president elect. After discussion, the Trustees decided to ask SUED to make the nominations for this position. (It was decided that the President always should be from an institution that is a member of AACTE, but does not have to be from the currently serving Trustees.) To maintain our status as a state affiliate, 2/3 of the institutions with teacher education in Ohio need to be members of AACTE. Jaci Wilbanks made a motion to close nominations. Frank Pettigrew seconded the motion. The motion was accepted.

Two committees that are in our Articles of Incorporation are Governmental Relations Committee and Issues and Resolutions Committee. Phil Ginnetti would like to see OACTE make these active committees, especially the Governmental Relations. He suggested that OACTE bring in Jane West, past President of the Advisory Council of State Representatives. She and Linda Distat, Minnesota state affiliate, have lots of information and strategies for state organizations for become more active and more involve in state politics. Kaye Martin agreed we should take a more pro-active role. Phil Ginnetti, chair, and Kaye Martin agreed to serve on the Governmental Relations committee. Phil stated that he would not recruit until after the Autumn meeting, after we had speakers on the topic.

In order to build the organization, Phil Ginnetti made a motion to send both the President and President Elect to the AACTE summer leadership institute. Marty Gaustad seconded the motion. The motion was accepted.

Marty Gaustad made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Debbie Weber seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.