# OACTE Board of Trustees

### October 14, 2009 Meeting Minutes

Attendees: Alice Anderson, Findlay; Joanne Arhar, Kent; Sally Barnhart, Xavier; Bonnie Beach, Ohio Dominican; Linda Billman, Ashland; Joy Cowdery, Muskingum; Janet DeVine, Walsh; Phil Ginnetti, Youngstown; Marti Gaustad; Martha Hendricks, Wilmington; Cheryl Irish, Indiana Weslyan; Ginny Keil, Toledo; Kathy McVey, Franciscan; Becky Pissano, BGSU; Tena Roeple, Ohio Northern; Mike Smith, Lourdes.

Joanne Arhar introduced the Board of Trustee members and officers.

# **Minutes**

Minutes from the March 11, 2009 meeting were distributed. Ann Shelly made a motion to accept the minutes. Ginny Keil seconded the motion. The minutes were accepted.

# Treasurers Report

Tena Roepke distributed a copy of the OACTE annual report, which had a balance on hand as of June 30, 2009 of \$12,251.81. She also distributed a copy of the OACTE financial report, which had a balance on hand as of October 14, 2009 of \$16,300.92. 19 institutions still need to pay 2009-10 dues.

#### **Ohio Preservice Survey**

Sonja Smith presented information about the Ohio Preservice Survey (formerly the Teacher Quality Partnership Preservice and Inservice surveys) for the 2008-09 academic year, inasmuch as OACTE funded the survey website and enabled data collection for that year. 2,621 preservice surveys from 42 institutions and 5 branch campuses and 1,633 inservice surveys from all 50 institutions were collected. A slow and steady increase in satisfaction has occurred over time. She and Kevin Kula will present on Friday morning. Institutions can have their data analyzed and reported for \$500. Institutions can use the surveys to continue to collect data as long as they acknowledge the source. Copies will be placed on the OACTE website.

#### Education Standards Board

Tena Repke reported on the changes in the structure and of the duties of the Education Standards Board due to the passage of House Bill I. Currently 3 higher education representatives serve, 1 from a four-year institution, 1 arts and science representative, and 1 two-year representative. Currently there are two subcommittees: 1) standards subcommittee charged with developing standards for superintendents and treasurer/business managers; developing a teacher evaluation system; and integrating 21<sup>st</sup> century standards into the educator standards. 2) Licensure subcommittee is charged with developing the residency program, licensure rules, and school nurse position.

# OCTEO Conference Program Chair

The OCTEO conference program chair alternates between the president of OATE and the president of OACTE. The responsibility of planning the conference program is an additional burden to the presidents, especially when one is in his or her first year of presidency. Two proposals for changing the current structure came from the OCTEO planning committee. One proposal suggests that OATE and OACTE each nominate program chairs for two-year, staggered terms. The other proposal is for the presidents-elects of each organization to act as co-chairs of the OCTEO planning committee. A subcommittee of Sally Barnhart and Linda Billman (OATE) and Joanne Arhar and Michael Smith (OACTE) will develop a proposal. OATE will vote on the proposal at their January meetings and OACTE will vote on the proposal via their electronic voting system. The proposal will be presented at the spring meeting.

# Preservice Teacher Performance Assessment

AACTE is sponsoring national pilots of the Performance Assessment for California Teachers (PACT). The University of Cincinnati, University of Dayton, and Wright State University are the pilot sites in Ohio. The pilot will last three years. Whether this pilot influences Ohio's new teacher residency program or teacher education programs remains to be seen.

#### Day on the Square

Last year's Day on the Square was extremely successful although not enough institutions participated. OCATE members want to continue the event annually. Bonnie Beach (committee chair), Joanne Arhar, Ann Shelly, and Ginny Keil will comprise the Day on the Square committee with assistance from Michael Smith and Phil Ginnetti (both of whom have accreditation visits in March, 2010).

#### **OCTEO Scholarships**

Four new OCTEO attendees were sponsored by OACTE this conference. SUED selected one doctoral student and one new faculty member from a branch campus from public institutions and OAPCTE selected two doctoral students from private institutions.