OACTE Board of Trustee March 6, 2013 Meeting

Joanne Arhar, Kent; Sally Barnhart, Xavier; Linda Billman, Ashland; Joy Cowdery, Muskingum; Dottie Erb, Marietta; Charlotte Harris, Wright State; Martha Hendricks, Wilmington; Ginny Keil, Toledo; Katie Kinnucan-Welsch, Dayton; Dan Mahony, Kent; Amy McClure, Ohio Wesleyan; Teresa McGowan, Miami; Renee Middleton, Ohio; Mary Murray, Bowling Green State; Ann Shelly, Ashland; Michael Smith, Lourdes; Sandy Stroot, Ohio State; Rae White, Muskingum; Brian Yusko, Cleveland State; Carol Ziegler, Notre Dame

Lori Loft, Ohio Department of Education, provided an update. She spoke about the online application for licenses. Soon ODE will no longer accept paper applications. She also talked about the transition to Pearson from ETS and the test validation process currently being undertaken. The resident educator assessment is aligned with the edTPA and currently the concern is that the two are too similar. Resident educators will be able to bank parts of the assessment and redo deficient portions. Resident teachers will be participating in the Ohio Teacher Evaluation system also. The OTES will be used for district information.

Currently edTPA is not a licensure requirement because it has not been validated yet. ODE raised some issues, changes have been made, and ODE is awaiting data.

Rebecca Watts, Ohio Board of Regents, discussed the Reading Endorsement, which will become a graduate-level only program. Students enrolled in existing programs will be allowed to complete, but no new undergraduate students can enroll in undergraduate programs. Practicing teachers have a multiple pathways to become qualified to teach reading. June 15, 2014 is the last date for undergraduate program completion.

Secretary's Report

Martha Hendricks distributed copies of the minutes from the fall meeting. Amy McClure, Ohio Wesleyan, was added to the list of attendees. Ann Shelly made a motion to approve the minutes as corrected. Joanne Arhar seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Treasurer's Report.

Joshua Francis distributed copies of the financial reports. OACTE's balance on hand as of February 28, 2013 was \$34,435.34. OCTEO's balance on hand as of February 28, 2013 was \$11,205.90. Mike Smith made a motion to accept the Treasurer's Reports. Sandy Stroot seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Advocacy Committee--Day on the Square

Joanne Arhar thanked Ann Shelly, Rae White, Katie Kinnucan-Welsch and a number of other people for their work on Day at the Square. Joanne requested feedback: What did we learn? One of the goals was to correct the misperception that teachers and teacher educators are averse to

evaluation. Legislators were informed about the edTPA. Rae White commented that we need to make sure our students learn advocacy--no other group is so meek.

Discussion ensued about paying someone to lobby on our behalf. Mike Smith identified two issues: we are limited by having full time jobs and we are limited in effectiveness with this organizational model. Mike suggested that the organization have a director, which would present a consistent face, because we cycle in and out. Katie Kinnucan-Welsch pointed out that an executive director could write and distribute white papers on issues. Linda Billman stated that a lobbyist could help us define what needs to be attended to in Columbus. Sandy Stroot remarked that many people in the institutions around the table do have experience, so we don't have to start from scratch. Perhaps we could buy someone's time to be a liaison. Renee Middleton made a motion that the Advocacy committee development a proposal. Sandy Stroot seconded the motion. The motion carried.

CAEP

The new CAEP standards have been released. At the SUED meeting, people were urged to respond to the standards. It was noted that there was nothing in the standards about conceptual framework, commitment to diversity, or faculty qualifications. Renee Middleton, Joshua Francis, Ginny Keil, Teresa McGowan, and Charlotte Harris will meet tomorrow to craft a response.

Advancement Committee

Joy reported that a plaque with names of the OACTE award winners is being created to display at every conference. Ballots were distributed and Linda Billman, Rae White, and Carol Zeigler from the private institutions and Mary Murray, Sandy Stroot and Robin Dever from the public institutions were elected as the Class of 2015.

Inquiry Committee

Sandy Stroot reported that the committee needed to revise their goals. The effort to operationalize the recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Panel has been handed off to Rebecca Watts at OBR. The Inquiry committee will be setting up mini grants for white papers.

Rae White made a motion that the meeting be adjourned. Renee Middleton seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.